search archive
explore archive Up

Historical Emerson Photographs

Object Type: Folder
In root of archive


View Gallery

Title
Description
Date

A casual group photo of the comedy troupe. Nine people are pictured. This is Pathetic, Emerson College's only all long-form improvisational comedy troupe, was formed in 1981. The troupe originally specialized in mime and puppetry, later turning their focus on social satire through sketches, improv, and film.

1981

A multicolored poster promoting the 10th Annual Emerson Film Festival: A Showcase of Student Films, in 2010. Special make-up effects artist, Rick Baker is featured on the left side of the poster. Since 2000, the Emerson College Los Angeles campus has hosted an event to showcase student films and connect alumni to Emerson students. Today, the Emerson College Film Festival and LA Showcase screens student films from the Emerson and Los Angeles campuses with competitions and awards, workshops and lectures from industry figures. Info source: Berkeley Beacon 10/2/2014.

2010

A yellow newspaper article titled, This fall we open our new home on the Charles River. There is a large drawing of the building in the middle of the paper, and at the bottom are the words Beacon and Berkeley Streets Boston. In 1933, the Emerson College of Oratory purchased 130 Beacon Street to house administration and classrooms. It is the first building purchased for what will become the Back Bay campus. This would also become the heart of the Back Bay campus, with the Emerson community gathering in front of the building, dubbing the area as “The Wall.”.

1933

Exterior photo of several buildings. 130 Beacon St. was the heart of college activity for many decades. The building was owned by Emerson College from 1933 through 2003.

1988-11-10

Exterior of the building. An Emerson College banner hands above the entrance. This area was known by the Emerson community as "The Wall." 130 Beacon St. was the heart of college activity for many decades. The building was owned by Emerson College from 1933 through 2003.

1990 - 2003

Building exterior. 130 Beacon St. was the heart of college activity for many decades. The building was owned by Emerson College from 1933 through 2003.

1993-10-05

Exterior of building and street. 130 Beacon St. was the heart of college activity for many decades. The building was owned by Emerson College from 1933 through 2003.

1930 - 1969

Exterior of building and street. View from 143-145 Beacon St. 130 Beacon St. was the heart of college activity for many decades. The building was owned by Emerson College from 1933 through 2003.

1986-04

Student on the front steps of 130 Beacon. Property signage displays the new name, "Emerson College, established 1880," as well as directional signage pointing the way to "FM station WERS" and "Drama workshop in rear." Originally built as private residences, 130 Beacon was part of a group of Back Bay buildings held by Emerson College. The college purchased 130 Beacon in 1933 to house administrative offices and classrooms. It became the flagship building of Emerson's Back Bay campus and over the years would also served as the base for The Emerson Review, The Berkeley Beacon and EIV, as well as the college library and a television studio. President Ross created the college's first theater in the Carriage House, located behind 128 and 130 Beacon. In 1939, the name of the institution was shortened from Emerson College of Oratory to Emerson College to coincide with expanded course offerings. 130 Beacon was a popular student hangout known as the Wall. Upon learning that Emerson was selling all of the college’s west side properties and relocating to complete the vision of the "Campus on the Common," Emerson students, staff, and faculty lamented the loss of the Beacon Street buildings for their character which lent itself to a unique sense of community. "I guess if you ask anyone from Emerson from the Beacon Street era, they would say The Wall was one of the best things about Emerson. It was like our Facebook. Behind The Wall was a huge sheet stretched between posts. All the events and news were posted daily. It was the central gathering point for campus life." - Barbara Ruthberg, BS '68. Info sources: Berkeley Beacon (10/19/2005); Emerson.edu webpages: Past-presidents, Editorial style guide, Memories of the Library; online video: "Pete Chvany reminisces at the wall.”.

1950 - 1959

Photo of the buildings with people on the sidewalk and a car on the street. In 1964, the College purchased 132-134 Beacon Street for use as a dormitory.

1967

Exterior of building. A large banner promotes the 1990 EVVY awards. Shot from 143 Beacon St.

1990-04-12

Four students sit on the front steps.

1986-04

Student with eyeglasses sits on a wood spindle chair reading a magazine. The sunlit room contains empty tables, chairs, and sofas.

1986-04

Two students seated at a long table with books open in front of them. One is talking with a third, standing, student.

1986-04

Front facade of building circa 1963 with neoclassical architectural elements. A Volkswagen beetle is parked on the street. Originally built as a home in 1904-1905, this structure at 150 Beacon Street replaced a house that was the residence of Boston arts benefactor, Isabella Stewart Gardner. 150 Beacon was designed by architect Alexander W. Longfellow, Jr., the nephew of the famous poet. In April 1961, Emerson College purchased 150 Beacon Street and converted it into dormitory and dining hall with a library on the upper floor. The college sold 150 Beacon in 1976.

1963 circa

Interior shot. Top of open staircase with ornate skylight above white columns. Emerson College Library was located here. Date unknown. Before Aug. 1985.

1985

Interior shot. Top of open staircase with ornate skylight above white columns. Emerson College Library was located here. Date unknown. Before Aug. 1985.

1985

Exterior of building in Boston's Back Bay neighborhood. Emerson College Library was located here.

1984 circa

Loading indicator
Powered by Preservica
Copyright 2016 © Emerson College